What Is Brawl Stars?




By: Tony Nguyen, Journalist

Brawl stars is a multiplayer online battle arena and third-person hero-shooter video game developed and published by the Finnish video game company, Supercell. It was released worldwide on December 12, 2018 on iOS, and android. The game features many different game modes, each with a unique objective.
Players can choose from a selection of Brawlers, which are characters that can be controlled with on-screen joysticks in game. Currently there are fifty-six different brawlers in Brawl Stars as of May 2022.


As of May 2022, there are currently seven in-game modes. Brawl Ball, Gem Grab, Heist, Bounty, Hot Zone, Knockout, Solo Showdown, and Duo Showdown. There are also three event game modes on the weekend. Boss Fight, Big Game, and Robo Rumble. There are also other game modes that are only available per season. Basket Brawl, Volley Brawl, Takedown, Wipeout, and Duels. Each brawler has two gears and two star powers. Each of those help the brawler succeed in brawling.

Power League

Power League is a competitive ranking system added to the game in season five. This replaced the Power Play system. Players unlock this system at 4500 trophies. There are a total of nineteen ranks between bronze one and master. Each season lasts two months, with the exception of the first season, which would end at the end of season five. At the end of a Power League season, players gain Star Points based on their rank. 

Players can enter Power League solo or with teams of three. The winner is decided on a best-of-three format and ties do not count. Each match starts the game randomly choosing a game mode and map. A leader from both teams choose a Brawler to ban. All six players in the match must play with a different Brawler. Progression is varied based on various factors including the opponents ranks.

Brawl Pass

In May 2020, a game update added a new reward system called “Brawl Pass.” The Brawl Pass is the game’s version of a battle pass. When players compete in battles, they earn Tokens to progress along the Brawl Pass. Players can earn Boxes, Gems, skins, Pins (emojis that can be used during matches or in a team game room), Coins, PowerPoints, and Brawlers from the pass. There are two types of Brawl Pass. All players have the free Brawl Pass by default. Players can purchase the premium Brawl Pass with Gems.


Each season brings a new Brawl Pass and Power League. Each season is accompanied by new skins that are themed to the season.

Club League

Club League was introduced in season 9 as a new weekly competition between Clubs, where eight Clubs compete on Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday of each week. Tickets are required to play matches. Clubs compete to gain the most Club Trophies possible by playing selected games. Players who play with other Club members are rewarded by earning more Club Trophies for the Club. After each competing day, the Clubs are ranked based on the Club’s Trophies to earn Club Points.

Club League ends every Monday. The Clubs are ranked based on the Club Points to determine if the Club is promoted or demoted and the number of rewards. Club Ranks are the same as Power League ranks, where progression starts at Bronze I. Each Club member receives Club Coins at the end based on the performance of the Club and the member, which can be used in the Club Shop.

Related Stories